Gallery

Skype with Jon Mills

Today when we got to school we thought of questions to ask Jon Mills for our Skype session. We could think of questions for the artist or author and also to ask Mr Watt.

We then had to decide on some rules for Skype, like speaking up and being quiet when others are talking.

It was a shame the Skype connection didn’t work so well so the video was slow but the sound was good and we found out lots of information.
Here are the questions and answers we got:
Fergus: Why are you so interested in metal?
JM: I like metal things, my grandfather and father worked with metal too.
Ivy: Has Mr Watt got a family?
JM: Not yet but soon hopefully.
Arlie: how long did it take you to build the ghost train?
JM: three or four months to make it but I started the drawings and planning applications eight years before.
Amber: At what age did you start making things with metal?
JM: when I was 18 I went to art college and I started at 21 at University.
Yusuf: Why is Mr Watt grumpy?
JM: he is like another person in me. He worries a lot just like I do. I find it amusing that he is grumpy.
Mia: does Mr Watt have friends?
JM: not really, he is too grumpy.
Marnie: why did you name him Mr Watt?
JM: He is named after the famous inventor James Watt. Also it is like Dr Who and my first book was called What Mr Watt? which I thought was funny.
Freddie: How did you bend the metal?
JM: when metal gets hot, it goes soft and then I can bend it. When it cools down, it stays in the shape I bend it into.
Spenser: How do you stick the metal together?
JM: I use a welder, it melts the metal together and sticks them.
Cerys: Does Mr Watt have a first name?
JM: not that I know off, I’ll have to ask him!
Beth: Does Mr Watt have a house?
JM: today I am building a life size Mr Watt shed which will be his house. When it is finished I will use it for workshops.

20140228-103210.jpg

20140228-103215.jpg

20140228-103222.jpg

Here are some more questions we would have liked to ask:
Cali: Mr Watt what is the best thing you have made so far?
Ivy: Do your children want to work with metal too?
Manou: Is Mr Watt ever happy?
Cerys: Does Mr Watt have hobbies?
Theo: Jon Mills, Why did you make Mr Watt? Do you make ideas with Mr Watt?
Marnie: What piece of work are you most proud off?
Arlie: What is your piece of work that is furthest away?
Lewis: Do you think Mr Watt is amazing at metal things?

We then had a go at designing our own metal models.

20140228-105630.jpg

20140228-105634.jpg

20140228-105638.jpg

20140228-105643.jpg

20140228-105650.jpg

20140228-105658.jpg

20140228-105702.jpg

2 comments on “Skype with Jon Mills

  1. Some more answers:

    Cali: Mr Watt what is the best thing you have made so far?
    “My best thing is the Orrery – it’s magical!”

    Ivy: Do your children want to work with metal too?
    “No! Funny that! One of them wants to be an engineer and the other a musician.
    I will give them both a copy of Mr Watt’s wind section.”

    Manou: Is Mr Watt ever happy?
    “I think he’s happiest when he is making something”

    Cerys: Does Mr Watt have hobbies?
    “I don’t think so. His life is spent making making and more making.”
    Theo: Jon Mills, Why did you make Mr Watt? Do you make ideas with Mr Watt?
    “I made him because it’s a way of looking at myself and putting some of my thoughts and fears and humour into a story book about the world that I work in.”

    Marnie: What piece of work are you most proud off?
    “Ooh – I think I will have to say the Ghost Train, because it’s about local history and transport heritage – I love all things to do with the latter; cars, trains, trams, buses, lorries – if they’re old I love them!”

    Arlie: What is your piece of work that is furthest away?
    “Well, I have sold my furniture pieces all over the world including New York, Chicago & Tokyo. Someone just bought a Mr Watt eBook in Mexico!!”

    Lewis: Do you think Mr Watt is amazing at metal things?
    “Mr Watt is the best! And when I grow up I’M going to be as good as him!”

  2. Pingback: Skype News | mrwatt'sblog

Leave a Reply

